top of page

philatelic society of australia


Note new meeting time and place:

About Us

  The Philatelic Society of Australia was first mentioned in journals in 18**. It went into recess about 1900, and it has held continuous meetings since 1911.

  We offer the following services to our members: information, interesting displays, auctions at each meeting, competitions, Christmas luncheon and the only daytime weekday meeting in Sydney.

  Library - We donated our library to The Philatelic Association of NSW (PHILAS) and our members can borrow from this extensive library.

  Membership about 50 with attendance at each meeting being around 20.

  Tea or coffee with a biscuit provided. You may bring a sandwich and stay for lunch.

Affiliated with

The Philatelic Association of NSW (PHILAS).




Sale by tender

Guest speakers

Meeting Time

3rd Wednesday of each month (except December) 9.30 am to 11.30 am.

Meeting Place

264 Pitt Street next to the Uniting Church



Contact Us

Secretary: Ilana Cohen
Phone: 0400238222
Postal Address: Philatelic Society of Australia, C/o Philas PO Box 220, DARLINGHURST 1300

Membership fees

Adults $10.00 p.a. (due in October)

(was $15.00 previously)

2023 Programme

20 April  Display:  Falkland Islands

              by Peter Brigden

19 May  Display:  Western Australian

              Airmails by Ed Wolf 

21 June  Display:  Postal Markings from

               Australian Island Offices

               by Michael Nibbs

19 July  Display:  Flowers by Linda Lee 

16 August  Display:  New Zealand

                   Antarctic by Graeme Morriss

20 September  Display:  Defeat and

              Despair: Germany 1919-1932

              by Frank B. Whitfield (also AGM)

18 October  Display:  Faroe Islands from

                   1957  by Win Morehouse

15 November  Cyril McCoulogh trophy,

                     members display and lunch

November 2022 Meeting


Cyril McColough trophy (members display)


Frank B Whitfield (pictured) was the winner of the trophy for 2020.  2021 was won by Andrew Brockett and Brian Philpot and 2022 was Jeffrey Newman.

Club page updated 17/04/2023

bottom of page