top of page
for  2020

At its AGM in November 2020,  PHILAS presented the following Awards.


Audrey Ferris

received the Stan Griffith Award for Service to a Local Club.  She was nominated by the Orange Stamp and Coin Club Inc  for her role as the club's Youth Coordinator, working with young collectors in the Orange region from 2006 to 2019.


Laurent Villoing

received the PHILAS Certificate of Merit.   He was nominated by the Philatelic Development Council of Philas (PDC) for the considerable work that he undertook coordinating the volunteers and souvenir sales at the Sydney Stamp Expos in 2015 and 2019. He is pictured receiving the award from Philas President Lionel Savins.


Graeme Morriss

was presented with the Philas Medal for 2020 by President Lionel Savins.  Graeme works in the Philas Library; has been the editor of the quarterly PHILAS News since 2011 and has coordinated the Association's website content since April 2019.


Uwe Kruger

received the Stan Griffith Award for Service to a Local Club.  He was nominated by the Penrith and District Philatelic Society for his major contributions to the club as its President from 2007 to 2017.  Uwe also published the club's Research Bulletin for many years.  Copies of the Bulletin can be read on the web page here.

   Uwe has compiled digital databases on a wide range of philatelic materials, including Australia Post's Stamp Bulletins.


John Pearson

received the PHILAS Certificate of Merit.  He has been the Australasian Philatelic Traders' Association Inc. (APTA) representative on the PDC for several years. Since 2015 he has been the APTA delegate to the National Shows in Sydney in 2015 and in 2019.

   He has also taken the time from his work to attend the One Day Youth Workshops in the school holidays. In September 2019 he joined the PDC as the Youth Development Officer (YDO).

  He has also given addresses on philately to the University of the 3rd Age and until recently ran a lunchtime stamp club at a Sydney metropolitan primary school.

   John has been an active member of the Manly Warringah Stamp Club for more than 20 years serving as Treasurer on its committee for at least 5 years.

bottom of page